getting back to business

IMG_8775

Before moving to London I was working at a 9-5 job with my own desk and set of projects. I loved the work I did in marketing and event coordination but I would often day-dream about stepping away from the office world and doing my own thing.

I had a version of my own thing going for some time with my fashion accessories line, Anamu, which is how this blog originally came to be. I attempted to turn a sewing hobby into a part-time cottage industry. I hand cut and sewed each one-of-a-kind clutch purse in the evenings and weekends, sold them on Etsy and hawked them at local craft shows. When the time came to think about scalability, making new designs, and hiring other people to sew for me, I realized that the accessories production world wasn’t what I was looking for.

A lot of money, time, and energy went into Anamu but it wasn’t a loss. On the contrary,  I gained a lot by learning how to start a small business and simply put, just going for it. I had an idea and I tried it. It didn’t stick so I’m on to the next.

Now in London, I’m fortunate that I get to explore what that next thing is. Graphic design, photography, a new web shop venture…there are some exciting things brewing here. To help keep the creative juices flowing and learn from the experts, I’ll be attending Hello Etsy, a summit for small businesses, this weekend. Since it’s in Berlin and it’ll be our first time there, we decided to make a mini-holiday out of it (yay!). I can’t wait to be inspired by a new city, new people, and fresh ideas. It feels good to get back to business.

5 thoughts on “getting back to business

  1. I’ll miss ANAMU clutches – hands down my favorite purses of all time, but I know that whatever you touch turns to gold, so I’m excited to see what happens with your new business venture!

  2. Pingback: hallo berlin |

Leave a comment